"Transformational Beauty" "Maternity" "Newborn" "Children" "FineArt" Photography

The Not So Obvious Answers

The wait is finally over, at least for me. I’ve been dying to share my thoughts on my recent blog “Looking Beyond the Obvious“.  So, I’m going to dash straight to the subject of discussion…

“What Are They”

Tomatentyp Romana

Image via Wikipedia

What you see in picture #1 was, well you guessed it, love, lot of it.  When our first lady started planting vegetables, she was not alone.  This eggplanty-looking Roma tomato came from the organic garden of my parents’ back-yard.  And for any of my friends out there that are experienced with “parents”, their love comes out-pouring.  While that tomato is still sitting in my kitchen as a reminder to write this post, you know what, they brought the hot pepper seedlings when they found out I’m into vegetable gardening too, except I’m not sure what to do with the pepper that could be too spicy for me.

Now, the second picture shows an irregularly shaped lemon, from the tree in my yard.  I know I have friends that would pick perfectly shaped lemons and nicely plate them as a decor (and possibly to show off).  Well, truth is that none of the picture-perfect lemons from our tree has evoked as much

Two lemons, one whole and one sliced in half

Image via Wikipedia

emotions from my husband as this one does.  I noticed that every time  he sees this oddly looking object, he cracks into smiles.  In this day and age, almost all of us are subject to varying levels of stress.  While a yoga session or a Mediterranean cruise may do the wonders, nothing beats a “low-cost” fruit that quietly sits there and makes him smile every day.

The third picture baffled even my husband.  My philosophy to life is that every body and every thing comes to this world for a reason.  And they should all be given the best opportunity to accomplish what they came here for.  So when the jasmine flowers prematurely fell off the branches, I collected them inside.  Their light aroma brings childhood memories of places that don’t look the same anymore (if you like, you could read my thoughts on modernization here and here).  And who would have expected that the pale-white flowers would celebrate the end of their lives by giving out the most splendid array of colors?

Now, my friends, you’ve known a little about my back-yard, my parents and my husband.  Click the “like” button if you like anything that I said.  I’d be even more flattered if you would leave a comment by clicking the link to “Leave a Comment”.  🙂

Happy reading!

9 responses

  1. Gretch

    Hey Jean – great post. And I must say that your husband must be a special guy if a lowly lemon can bring a smile to his face. Wonderful!

    Like

    August 18, 2010 at 11:28 PM

    • Thank you, Gretch! My husband is a special guy, for me. 🙂

      Like

      August 19, 2010 at 10:35 AM

  2. Lovely post Jean. A great appreciation of the simple things in life that most of us would be blindly oblivious to.
    Refreshing!

    Like

    August 22, 2010 at 5:18 AM

    • Hi Vanessa, thank you for stopping by and taking the time to give your thoughts. I’m so happy that my writing is not a one-way communication and I can hear sounds of more than just my own echo. 🙂

      Have a wonderful day!

      Jean

      Like

      August 22, 2010 at 2:20 PM

  3. Pingback: Can Normal Life Objects, like Chili Peppers, be Turned Into Art? « Jean Huang Photography

  4. And another awesome post, with great images. Simplicity is the key, it makes things amazing. Mind if I link it to my links page?

    http://sssourabh.wordpress.com/link-up/

    Like

    October 27, 2010 at 3:59 PM

    • Sourabh, I’m glad that we share the same feeling about simplicity. We came to this world simple, and we should keep it that way. 🙂 I truly believe the ones that enjoy simplicity in life tend to be the happy ones. Are you one of them? 😉

      It will be an honor to be linked to your page. So please do (and thank you for asking).

      BTW, I have a travel blog with photos and thoughts from my travels. Give me some time to catch up on writing and remind me in a couple of months if you are interested and still remember. 🙂

      Like

      October 27, 2010 at 4:16 PM

      • I strive to be simple, but I think I fall in the complex arena! So that’s why when I have removed the clutter and noticed the simplicity, its an awakening. I’m getting there..

        Thanks, will do so soon.

        Would love to read your travel blog. I’m quite nomadic too, and document my photography travels via Flickr (somewhat). http://flickr.com/photos/sssourabh

        As you can see from my blog too, I write about travel a lot! Or just the fact that my reviews/insights are global, hopefully it relays the travel part 🙂

        Looking forward to connect!

        Like

        October 28, 2010 at 9:38 AM

      • Sourabh, I’ve visited your Flickr photostream and am sure will do more. Nice photos and did leave my finger-prints (or foot marks, how ever you’d like to think of them) there. Keep up the good and interesting work! 🙂

        Look forward to being listed as one of your links! Would you let me know when that happens?

        Like

        October 28, 2010 at 11:12 AM

Leave a Reply

